2019 Indian General Elections Updates

Election Results 2019 - Election Commission ( www.eci.gov.in ) of India has began counting votes for 542 seats

After a six-week-long Lok Sabha election votes will be counted throughout Thursday, May 23, as Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government eyes a second term.  People are waiting for the Election Results 2019 to know who will be the next PM of India.

Most exit polls broadcast on the seventh and final day of voting had the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party, retaining power with a clear parliamentary majority.

As 2019 general elections are around the corner all the candidates are trying their best for upcoming lok sabha elections. Let’s take a look at what Congress is batting for the upcoming 17th Lok Sabha Elections

Elections to the 17th Lok Sabha will be held in seven phases. While the first phase will be held in April 11, second on April 18, third on April 23, fourth on April 29, fifth on May 6, sixth on May 12 and the seventh and last phase will take place on May 19. Counting of votes and declaring of results will take place on May 23.

Elections will be held for 543 Lok Sabha seats; two seats are reserved for nominated candidates. Elections will also be held to four state assemblies also. They are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Sikkim.

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: Profiles of prominent Congress politicians: Know your neta before you vote

Close to 90 crore people will be eligible to vote in the 2017 Lok Sabha elections. There has been an increase of 8.4 crore voters compared to 2014 general elections. According to the Election Commission of India, a total 17.4 lakh voter verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT) will be used in the 2019 Parliament election. More than 10 lakh polling booths have been set up across the country. This is a 10 per cent increase from 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Congress came out with its eighth list consist of 38 candidates. The prominent congress faces in its eighth list include Imran Masood Chairman of Saharanpur's Municipal Council and Union Cabinet Minister of External Affairs Salman Khurshid who will contest.the Lok Sabha elections 2019 starting from April 11 and ending on May 19, 2019.

  • Election Genie

Political Stock Exchange

Rahul Gandhi
Congress president Rahul Gandhi serves such additional offices as the Chairperson of the Indian Youth Congress and the National Students Union of India. Rahul Gandhi entered politics in 2004 and successfully contested the general elections held that year from Amethi, he won again from the constituency in 2009 and 2014.Rahul Gandhi was elected as congress vice-president in 2013, he led the INC's campaign in the 2014 Indian general elections. Rahul Gandhi took over as the president of the Congress in December 2017. For the 17th Lok Sabha Elections, Rahul Gandhi will be contesting from Kerala's Wayanad constituency, During Wayanad nomination in Kerala congress president Rahul Gandhi claimed that he is fighting against PM Narendra Modi and Bharatiya Janta party.

Imran Masood
Imran Masood is an Indian politician and has served as the MLA in the UP state assembly. Currently, he is a state senior vice president of Uttar Pradesh Congress Commitiee. He also contested for Lok Sabha election and secured 4.10 lakh votes. BJP's Raghav Lakhanpal defeated him in 2014 Lok Sabha election 2014. In the 2017 UP Vidhan Sabha elections Imran Masood defeated inthe Nakur Constituency. This year, Imran Massod will be contesting elections from Saharanpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

Sonia Gandhi
Sonia Gandhi is former president of the Indian National Congress. She joined politics in 1997 after constant prodding from the party; the following year, she was nominated for party president, and elected over Jitendra Prasada. Under her leadership, the Congress went on to form the government post the 2004 elections in coalition with other centre-left political parties. Gandhi has since been credited for being instrumental in formulating the UPA, which was re-elected to power in 2009. She stepped down as the Congress president in December 2017, but continues to lead the party's Parliamentary committee. This year, Sonia Gandhi will be contesting elections from Rae Bareli, Uttar Pradesh.

Latest Photo Gallery

Rajaram Pal
Raja Ram Pal is an Indian politician with the Indian National Congress, and was a member of the 15th Lok Sabha from Akbarpur. Earlier, as a member of the BjP, he had been a member of the 14th Lok Sabha from Bilhaur.

During 1996-2002, he was the member in Uttar Pradesh legislative assembly, in 2004 he elected to 14th Lok Sabha. Later, he became a member of library committee, member of committee on communications and information technology. In 2009 he was re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha. He will be contesting the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Akbarpur, Uttar Pradesh,

Salman Khurshid
Salman Khurshid is a famous politician and was the union cabinet minister of external affairs. He is also a lawyer who has been a key member of Congress since the time Indira Gandhi was in power. He lost the Lok Sabha elections 2014 from Farrukhabad. He again elected for 10th Lok Sabha between (1991-96). He was a president of Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee (1999-2000 and 2005-08). He was elected to 15th Lok Sabha in 2009. In 2011, he was an Union Cabinet Minister of Water Resources, law and Justice.. It was only in 1991 that he contested his first Lok Sabha election and here, he became an elected representative for Farrukhabad constituency. For 17th Lok Sabha elections, Salman Khurshid will be contesting from Farukkhabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Annu Tandon
Annu Tandon was an MP in the 15th Lok Sabha from Unnao, Uttar Pradesh with the Indian National Congress party.Tandon is the founder director of the Hriday Narain Dhawan Charitable Trust, which has been active in philanthropy in the district before 2000. Indian general election in Uttar Pradesh, 2014, Annu Tandon was again fielded as a candidate by the Congress. In 2009, Annu Tandon had won the seat for Congress. She lost the 2014 elections from Uanno badly. She was 4th in the election results barely retaining her deposits at 16% votes. She will be contesting r 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Unnao constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

Jitin Prasad
Jitin Prasada is a former minister of state for Human Resource. He was representing Dhaurahra Lok Sabha constituency of district Lakhimpur Kheri, Uttar Pradesh in 15th Lok Sabha, where he won by 184,509 votes. In 2009, he fought and won the election from Dhaurara. For the 14th Lok Sabha, Jitin held the positions for committee on petitions member. He lost his seat in the year 2017 from Uttar Pradesh Assembly election. For the 17th Lok Sabha elections, Jitin Prasad will be contesting from Dhaurahra constituency in Uttar Pradesh.